Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Task Force seeks nominations for 2024 MLK Community Service Award

December 18, 2023

share this on  Facebook   Twitter   Email

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Task Force of Southfield is currently seeking nominations for the 2024 MLK Community Service Award. The award honors one individual each year who best exemplifies the qualities of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 

Nominees must be committed to the advancement of human and civil rights, active in community service, and reside or work in Southfield or Lathrup Village. To nominate someone, please tell us something about the person you are nominating including the reason you feel s/he has earned this Community Service Award. Nominees must be at least 18 years of age. Past recipients and current elected officials are not eligible. All submissions must include the name, address and telephone number of both the person nominating and the person being nominated.  Nominations may be mailed to: Dorothy Dean, Community Service Award Committee Chair, 26677 W. Twelve Mile Road, Southfield, Michigan 48034 or e-mailed to: deanlaw@sbcglobal.net. All nominations are due by Wednesday, December 20, 2023.

The city of Southfield was the first city in the state of Michigan to hold a Dr. King peace walk or march. The first Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace Walk in Southfield took place on January 20, 1986, commemorating the first national observance of Dr. King’s birthday. The walk continues to grow in size and scope each year with year-long educational and community activities. The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Task Force, Inc. is a non-profit organization comprised of volunteers committed to advancing the principles and ideals of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The 39th annual MLK Day Celebration will take place on Monday, January 15, 2024 beginning at Hope United Methodist Church at 9 a.m. followed by a Peace Parade to the Southfield Pavilion for a Commemorative Program at 11 a.m. 

For more information, call Dorothy Dean, MLK Community Service Award Chair, at (248) 790-0531 or visit www.mlktaskforcemi.org.