## Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 2024 Community Service Award

## - NOMINATION FORM -

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Award is presented annually as part of the MLK Holiday Celebration in Southfield. The MLK Task Force is currently seeking nominations for the person who best meets the following criteria. *Please note: past recipients (listed at right) are not eligible.* 

## Nominees Must Be:

- 1. Southfield or Lathrup Village resident (or employed in either community) that is at least 18 years of age.
- 2. Dedicated to serving the needs of humanity through demonstrated efforts in the community.
- 3. Instrumental in the advancement of human and civil rights.
- 4. Someone who has demonstrated, through his or her own life and work, the values espoused by the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

To nominate someone, please tell us something about the person you are nominating including the reason you feel s/he has earned the Community Service Award.

"I nominate
(Name, Address, Phone Number, E-mail)
for the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Award because"
Include the following information:
Submitted by
Address
Phone

## Send nominations to:

Dorothy Dean, Community Service Award Committee Chair Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Task Force, Inc. 26677 W. Twelve Mile Road, Southfield, Michigan 48034 Or e-mail:deanlaw@sbcglobal.net

For more information, call Committee Chair Dorothy Dean at (248) 790-0531.

NOMINATION DEADLINE: WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2023



PAST S	ERVICE A	WARD \	Winners
--------	----------	--------	---------

- 1988 Katharine Schelbe
- 1989 Dr. Willliam Anderson
- 1990 Dr. Louise Reid-Ritchie
- 1991 Judge Stephen Cooper
- 1992 Irma B. Cooper
- 1993 Comm. Eric Coleman
- 1994 Susie M. Hunt
- 1995 Rev. Mark Jenson
- 1996 Anne Harp
- 1997 Barbara E. Talley
- 1998 Lawrence R. Pernick
- 1999 Robert Block
- 2000 Lillian Jaffe-Oaks
- 2001 Chief Joseph Thomas
- 2002 Gerald Kuhn
- 2003 Alan Feuer
- 2004 Dr. Cecil Rice
- 2005 Priscilla Lamb
- 2006 Roy Bell
- 2007 Felix Seldon
- 2008 Dr. Karl Gregory
- 2009 No Recipient Awarded
- 2010 Barbara Seldon
- 2011 Ashley N. Thomas
- 2012 Rev. Angelo Henderson
- 2013 Patrick Coleman
- 2014 Herman Sherline
- 2015 Cherryl Thames
- 2016 Delores Flagg
- 2017 Rev. Joan C. Ross
- 2018 Rosemerry D. Allen
- 2019 Patricia Haynie
- 2020 Millie K. Hall
- 2021 Darla Van Hoey
- 2022 Richard Smart, III
- 2023 Bennie White, Jr. Ethiopia Israel