Rosemerry Allen selected as 2019 Greg Kennedy Community Service Award recipient

December 17, 2019

share this on  Facebook   Twitter   Email

(l-r) TLC Chair Veronica Leonard, 2019 Greg Kennedy Award Recipient Rosemerry Allen and Mayor Kenson Siver

The Southfield City Council confirmed the Total Living Commission’s (TLC) recommendation of Rosemerry Allen as the 2019 recipient of the Greg Kennedy Community Service Award, which honors residents who are active in community service.

Mayor Kenson Siver and TLC Chair Veronica Leonard formally presented Mrs. Allen with the Award at the Regular City Council meeting on Monday, December 16 at 7 in Council Chambers.

Nominations for this prestigious award were due by November 1, 2019, which are reviewed by the City’s Total Living Commission with recommendations made to City Council. The Commission unanimously voted to approve Mrs. Allen’s nomination.   

Ms. Allen currently serves as the Chairperson of the Parks & Recreation Commission and President of the Hiawatha Neighborhood Association. She is also an active member of the Police Chief’s Advisory Board the Southfield Emergency Management CERT Team as well as a graduate of the Southfield Citizen’s Police Academy.  Ms. Allen is also very active in the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Task Force, the Southfield Historical Society, League of Women Voters, Southfield Lathrup Dems Club, Southfield Community Coalition, Southfield Community Anti-Drug Coalition, Southfield Police Citizens Advisory Board. She serves as a Police Chaplain for the Southfield Police Department and was named 2019 Chaplain of the Year from the International Association of Chaplains and First Responder's. Mrs. Allen was also very involved with Southfield Public Schools and numerous other community groups and initiatives.

The Greg Kennedy Community Service Award was originally established in 1999 to honor the legacy of community activist Greg Kennedy by encouraging other residents to engage in public service. Greg Kennedy was one of Southfield’s first residents and demonstrated his commitment to the City throughout his entire lifetime. He established the City’s first Southfield Homeowners Coalition and annually sent numerous low-income children to attend the Shriner’s Circus. He visited senior homes in Southfield every week to help out, entertain and listen. He was an outspoken advocate for seniors and young people alike and was known for standing up for other people’s rights. Since its inception, there have been only five past recipients of the award, including: Samuel P. Havis in 2000; Jacqueline Nelson in 2001; Muriel Zweigel in 2003; Jonathan Adams in 2016; Roger Goolsby in 2017; and Pat Haynie in 2018.

For more information, call Southfield Community Relations at (248) 796-5130 or visit