FEMA-State Disaster Recovery Center open in Southfield October 6-16

October 5, 2021

share this on  Facebook   Twitter   Email

FEMA-State Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Southfield

Southfield Municipal Campus Pavilion, 26000 Evergreen Road

Wednesday, October 6  Saturday, October 16, 2021  

Hours:  Monday through Saturday 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.  

Closed Sunday, October 10 and Indigenous Peoples' Day, October 11 

A Disaster Recovery Center will open in Southfield on Wednesday, October 6 to help renters, homeowners and business owners affected by the June 25 – 26, 2021 severe storms and flooding.    

Before visiting a recovery center, survivors should register for federal assistance one of the following ways: 

  • Online at DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Using the FEMA App; or 
  • Calling 800-621-3362 (including 711 or Video Relay). TTY users can call 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available. 

Anyone requiring a reasonable accommodation (ASL interpreting, Braille, Large print, etc.) may call 800-621-3362 to request assistance in advance or ask the recovery staff at the center for assistance. 

In-person assistance from FEMA representatives remains available at Disaster Recovery Centers located in southeast Michigan. Individuals can visit any open center to get the help they need with the federal assistance process.

At a Disaster Recovery Center, you can:

  • Register for FEMA assistance by using phone banks at the center
  • Check the status of your application
  • Meet with a FEMA applicant assistance representative
  • Obtain information about state agencies and voluntary organizations
  • Discuss the U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for businesses, non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters and receive help inputting your application or documents
  • Obtain information about additional resources available and how to reduce future damage 

For more information about Michigan’s recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4607. FEMA assistance is currently available to residents in Washtenaw and Wayne counties, and now Oakland and Macomb. The deadline for individuals to apply for disaster assistance is Nov. 12, 2021.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency, or economic status. Reasonable accommodations, including translation and American Sign Language interpreters via Video Relay Service will be available to ensure effective communication with applicants with limited English proficiency, disabilities, and access and functional needs. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 (including 711 or Video Relay). If you are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585.