Court Divisions

Did You Know?

  • The City of Southfield was the first city in the State of Michigan to hold a Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace Walk Celebration in commemoration of the first national holiday observance in 1986.

  • The City of Southfield has more than 700 acres of park land as well as two public nine-hole golf courses. 

  • Southfield Flower Day was developed by the Mayor and City Council to promote curb appeal and beautification efforts throughout the City of Southfield.

  • There are 32 miles of rivers and streams in Southfield, and the City hosted the 1st annual Rouge River Cleanup over 35 years ago.

The Court is comprised of five divisions:

  • Administration: Responsible for administrative management of all non-judicial functions of the Court, including: personnel and fiscal management, juror coordination, caseflow management, and other administrative areas.
  • Misdemeanors/ Felony Division: Maintains records on all misdemeanor and felony offenses and is responsible for the processing, scheduling, and noticing of these cases.
  • Civil Infractions/ Parking Division: Maintains records on all traffic civil infraction and parking violations and is responsible for the processing, scheduling, and noticing of these cases.
  • Civil Division: Maintains records on general civil, landlord-tenant, and small claims cases and is responsible for the scheduling and processing of these cases. (Civil cases are all non-criminal and non-traffic matters.)
  • Probation Department: Responsible for the supervision, counseling, and referral of defendants placed on probation. The Probation Department also performs alcohol assessments and pre-sentence investigations. Those who cannot afford to pay fines and costs are placed in non-profit agencies where they contribute volunteer hours in lieu of payment.