The Southfield Police Records Bureau is responsible for the control and maintenance of all police incident reports and arrest paperwork. Business hours for the Records Bureau are 8:30 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding holidays). Please note: Effective Monday, March 30, 2015, the Records Bureau business hours will be from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Any fees with the exception of LiveScan fingerprints may be paid with cash, check or money order.
The following is a list of duties/services carried out by the Records Bureau during normal business hours with the exception of fingerprints and handgun permits which are only done until 3:30 pm.
The phone number is 248-796-5580. The mailing address is Southfield Police Department – Records Bureau, 26000 Evergreen Rd., Southfield, MI 48076.
Accident Reports On-Line
Copies of traffic accident reports (UD10s) are available on the Internet through Oakland County CLEMIS (Courts Law Enforcement Management Information System). Reports may be obtained by purchasing Accident/Crash Reports (click here)
Copies of Police Reports - $8.00
Copies of incident reports and traffic accident reports may be obtained through the Records Bureau. Reports are generally available 48 to 72 hours after the incident occurred. In order to obtain a copy of a report, either the requestor’s name must appear in the report or a notarized authorization must be presented. Contact the Records Bureau for further details. You must provide picture identification. Certain information, which is governed by state and federal privacy laws, is always removed from the report, prior to copying. This may include, but is not limited to: addresses, phone numbers, victim information, witness information, suspect information, and medical data.
Fingerprinting - $15.00 (additional federal and state fees may apply)
Non-criminal / applicant fingerprinting is done by the Records Bureau Monday – Friday from 9:30 am – 3:30 pm. No appointment is necessary. Fingerprints cost $15.00 per card. Please bring a driver’s license or state identification.
If you are required to submit your prints through “LiveScan”, call the Records Bureau to verify what you will need to bring with you.
GUN PERMITS – (Notary Fee $10.00)
Applications for a Pistol Purchase Permit known as License to Purchase (LTP) a handgun may be completed at the Records Bureau from 9:30 am to 3:30 pm Monday – Friday.
PLEASE NOTE: Weapons are NOT permitted when visiting the Records Bureau except as permitted by law.
Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL)
Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL’s) are issued by Oakland County. You may contact them at 248-858-0568. Application packets are available at the Records Bureau Counter to be filed with the County.
Pistol Purchases (PSR)
CPL holders use Pistol Sales Record (PSR) forms to purchase weapons. A PSR form is available through gun dealers or on the State of Michigan website. Go to Michigan.gov/msp and search “pistol sales record” to complete and print out the form. The State Police copy of the PSR must be presented to the Records Department for processing within 10 days of purchasing the weapon. Applications for CPLs are issued by Oakland County. You may contact then at 248-858-0568. Application packets can be picked up at the Records Bureau counter.
Persons who do not have a CPL do not need a License to Purchase (LTP). A Pistol Sales Record form is available through gun dealers or on the State of Michigan website. The State Police copy of the PSR must be presented to the Records Department for processing within 10 days of purchasing the weapon.
License to Purchase (LTP)
Persons who do not have a CPL who will be purchasing from an individual will need a License to Purchase (LTP).
Requirements to obtain a LTP:
18 years of age (to purchase from a private citizen) or 21 years of age (to purchase from a federally licensed dealer)
Valid (not expired) identification showing name and address (not a PO Box)
A second document showing name and address (such as car registration, voters card, utility bill or paystub)
US citizen or resident legal alien (must show I-551 card)
Must not be otherwise legally prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under current firearms legislation (i.e. felony conviction, assault conviction)
All applicants for LTP’s will have a clearance check completed, regardless of the number of times they have applied previously. LTP applications will be processed, and permits issued, with due speed and diligence, as required by State law. One permit is needed for each weapon.
The State Police copy of the LTP must be presented to the Records Department for processing within 10 days of purchasing the weapon.
Impounded Vehicle Release - $10.00
To claim your vehicle, you must provide proof of ownership (registration and/or title) and picture identification.
Pet License Information
Pet licenses expire on the 31st of December each year. After January 1st of each year a $25.00 delinquency fee will be added to the normal license fee. If you have not licensed your pet, you may do so by mail or in person. If renewing by mail, please complete the pet license application form (pdf).
You must return the completed form to us with proof of rabies vaccination and a check payable to the “City of Southfield." In order to receive the discounted rate listed as S/N (spayed/ neutered) you will need to furnish documented proof of neutering from your veterinarian. Once the information is processed a license will be mailed to you. The same information is required when purchasing at the Police Records Bureau.
Pet License Fees:
|Animals not Neutered
|| Neutered Animals
| 1 YR Male/Female $20.00
|| 1 YR Spayed/Neutered $10.00
| 3 YR Male/Female $50.00
|| 3 YR Spayed/Neutered $25.00
| Senior Owner - 1 YR $18.00
|| Senior Owner - 1 YR $9.00
| Senior Owner - 3 YR $45.00
|| Senior Owner - 3 YR $22.50
To qualify for the Senior Owner discount, you must be 65 years of age or older and provide picture identification as proof
Police Clearance Letters - $10.00
Records clearances are conducted on adults only for contacts within the City of Southfield.
A request for a “Criminal Conviction History” can be made through the Michigan State Police. For further information, please contact them at (517) 332-2521 or visit them on the web at www.michigan.gov/msp.